To get a Private Applicator license a person takes an exam and pays fees for the exam and the license (costs below).
Study materials and pre-license courses are available through Washington State University (WSU) Extension, if needed. WSDA recommends getting a Private Applicator Pesticide Education Manual to prepare for the Private Applicator exam. The manual can also be a helpful reference.
Private Applicator Annual license Fee: $33.00 - For the person who applies or supervises the application of a restricted use pesticide on land owned or rented by him or his employer for the purpose of producing an agricultural commodity.
Private Applicator Pesticide Education Manual
Covers federal and Washington State pesticide laws, pesticide formulations, label information, pesticide hazards and health concerns, safe use of pesticides to protect people, the environment, nont ...
There is a $25 testing fee. New applicants will also pay a license application fee based on the type of license(s) needed. Note: While the testing fee is required each time you test, the license application fee is only required once/calendar year.
Testing is conducted by WSDA every Tuesday at their Olympia and Yakima offices at 8:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. sharp. In addition, testing is conducted by field staff at 12:30 p.m. at the following locations:
Everett Once a month (call for specific date) - WSU Extension Office, 600 128th St. SE
Spokane First Wednesday of each month - WSDA Office, 222 N. Havana E.
Wenatchee Third Thursday of every other month (Jan-Nov) - WSDA Office, 270 9th St NE, Suite 204
Moses Lake Third Tuesday each month - Grant Co. Fire District #5 Training Center
Longview Variable schedule (call for specific date/time) - Lower Columbia College, 1600 Maple St
For more information and FAQ's please visit: https://agr.wa.gov/pestfert/licensinged/faqs.aspx#FAQForThoseConsidering